Privacy Protection

What is Privacy Protection?

When you buy a domain name, you must provide accurate contact information. If the information is not correct, your domain name could be terminated or at least put on hold. However, not everyone wants to make his/her personal information publicly available. Privacy Protection replaces your contact information with the contact details of ClouDNS in WHOIS information.

Do all TLDs have Privacy Protection?

Unfortunately, this option is not available for all TLDs. Please check our domain name pricing list to find out which domain supports and which not.

What it costs?

In case Privacy Protection is supported by your TLD, Privacy Protection offered by ClouDNS is free with no additional costs.

How to activate it?

Privacy Protection should be activated from your domain name management page. From your Dashboard, in section "Domain names" click on your domain name. Then, click on "Privacy Protection" button.

What happens next?

Once you activate Privacy Protection, an approval e-mail will be send to your e-mail address. Once you approve the changes, the contact information of your domain name will be replaced with our contact details. Please have in mind, that sometimes the activation could take up to 24 hours after an approval.

How to deactivate it?

The deactivation of Privacy Protection is exactly the opposite of activation. From the domain name management page, you have to click on "Privacy Protection" and then on Deactivate. You will receive an approval e-mail again, where you must approve the changes. Please have in mind, that sometimes the deactivation could take up to 24 hours after an approval.

Why the contact details are replaced by ours?

Every domain name must have a contact details. Once Privacy Protection is activated, a valid contact information should be presented. In case someone wants to contact the domain name owner, we just send a contact form, not the e-mail address or any other information.

Why our information is still shown after deactivation?

Sometimes the deactivation could take up to 24 hours after an approval for deactivation. During this period our contact details will be shown. Once the deactivation process is completed, our contact details will be replaced by yours.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more